Canning Peaches

How to Can Peaches, as Taught to Me by My Mama

My mother and I spent a couple of days canning peaches, and it was so much easier than I ever anticipated!  There were so many times when I was young that I sat watching my mom and grandmother can peaches together in the steamy hot kitchen on an early fall day, wishing I could help out.  Finally my mama and I canned up some peaches together.  Here’s how she does it:

1. Blanch your peaches for a minute or two.  After blanching, run your peaches under cold water and remove the skins (they should just come right off).

2.  Put your syrup on to boil in a stainless steel pot.  We used one cup of sugar in seven cups of water for some of our peaches, and 3.5 cups of apple juice in 3.5 cups of water for a sugar-free batch.

3.  While your syrup is coming to a boil, slice your peaches and fill canning jars.

4.  When your jars are full of sliced peaches, add syrup.  Fill nearly to the top – leave about an inch.  Wiggle a butter knife around the inside edges of your jars to remove air bubbles and top up with a bit more syrup.

5.  Place lids on your jars.  Put the jars in the hot water bath, approximately two inches below the surface of the water.  Boil for 30 minutes.

6.  Remove jars from the canning pot and let stand to cool.  You will know your lids are sealed when the centre is concave.  Listen for the “pop”!

Voila!  There you have it – canned peaches.  These should last you right through the winter.  Bon appetite!

3 thoughts on “Canning Peaches

Leave a Reply

