So Many Eggs!

We sure did miss our farm fresh eggs all winter while the hens took their well-deserved break. We waited with anticipation for the girls to start laying again.

Last week I started finding the odd egg or two in the coop. The kids were so excited each time I brought an egg into the house, clapping their hands and then quickly settling into an argument over who would get to eat the egg.

Imagine our delight when I found 16 eggs in the coop one morning, and a beautiful duck egg nestled in the corner. My children managed to eat all 16 of those eggs in one day!

Now every day there is a multitude of eggs, far more than we can reasonably eat. I am filled with gratitude toward our fine feathered friends each time we enjoy a meal made with farm fresh eggs. What a blessing and a joy to have this bounty!

Keeping hens and ducks is one of my favourite aspects of country living. They provide so much – rich, beautiful manure for the gardens; insect control; companionship for the kids; and of course, those fine, glorious eggs.

3 thoughts on “So Many Eggs!

  1. I’ve always thought that when I get a fruit and nut tree orchard going that I’d want chickens (and pigs) to help with the fertilizing and insect/pest control as well as eating the fallen fruits :)

  2. We’ve been getting farm fresh eggs weekly from one of my co-workers. I cannot believe how lovely they are. It makes me smile every time I open up a carton and see all the beautful eggs :)

Leave a Reply

