Yarn Along

I’ve been admiring other bloggers’ knitting & crocheting projects for quite a long time now, thoroughly enjoying the “Yarn Along” that Ginny from Small Things hosts each Wednesday.  This week, I thought I’d go ahead and join in.

With cold weather setting in and the holidays fast approaching, I’ve got a handful of projects on the go right now. These are the two that are closest to completion: on the left, what will be Raina’s bunting doll (a Christmas gift), and on the right, Lynden’s woolly winter sweater.  Lynden chose his sweater yarn himself – I was surprised at the plain, undyed colour he selected – and for the first time he is actually excited at the prospect of wearing what comes off my needles.  The finished sweater will feature a nice, large front pocket for holding “treasures and dinosaurs” and, of course, a hood.  Lynden’s requested that the hood and the pocket be knit in a tweed yarn, for contrast.  Might I have a garment-knitter in the making?

I’d like to say I have a book I’ve been reading as well, but alas, these days I find I have zero time to enjoy a good book.  A tragedy! But it’s true: each hour of my day is taken up with child care, snuggles and play time, household chores, knitting & crocheting projects, cooking – and then, just before bed (or first thing in the morning) I hop on the computer for a short while to do some blogging or blog reading and ogle potential new patterns on Ravelry.

Maybe when the holidays are over I’ll be able to dive into the pile of books that awaits me…

6 thoughts on “Yarn Along

  1. Looks great! I like the colour of the undyed wool, myself…grey is my favourite colour to wear!

    Too bad you’re not reading anything–the books are my favourite part of the Yarn Along because I read a lot but I don’t knit or crochet! :)

  2. Welcome to the world of yarnalongs! How lovely that he chose the yarn himself, my olders just show me a picture of something they like and ask me to replicate, with just a brief suggestion of colours. Sometimes I forget what is for who so they have to do a swaparound lol.
    xx

  3. I am glad he is excited by his sweater :) I used to love it when mum let me choose what yarn I could have my sweater in. She did have a habit of guiding me- probably because otherwise all my sweaters would have been red LOL

Leave a Reply

