Spinning Some Yarn

I had my very first spinning lesson yesterday evening.  It was… interesting.  Spinning is much more difficult than I had anticipated, and I was very frustrated.  This can only be a good thing, because I’ve not yet encountered anything that didn’t come easily to me, and having this challenge and frustration will do me some good.

It took me a good 45 minutes just to get the danged wheel spinning in one direction!  Several times I thought I had it going, moving along clockwise and making a lovely whirring noise, and suddenly the wheel was going counterclockwise.  ARGH!  I did end up getting the hang of it, but adding some roving to spin into yarn was a whole different ballgame.

I snapped my yarn on nearly every attempt, spinning it much too tight.  I had more hills and valleys than I’d like to admit – big thick spots followed by tiny thin sections.  It was laughable.  I don’t recall the last time I felt so very frustrated.

“It’s like learning to ride your bike,” my teacher told me.  “Once you get the hang of it, you’ve got it for life.”   Yes, well, that’s all good.  But learning to ride my bike was not nearly so difficult!

So now I’m in determined persistence mode.  I WILL spin beautiful yarn.  I WILL spin beautiful yarn.  I WILL spin beautiful yarn!

I have two lessons left, and unlimited free practice time at the yarn shoppe.  I haven’t purchased a wheel yet, so I can’t practice at home, and this is driving me insane.  Spinning is now all I can think about.  I must master this craft if it’s the last thing I do!

2 thoughts on “Spinning Some Yarn

  1. I started spinning on a cheap drop spindle just to get the basics of making the yarn. Switching to a wheel was harder, but more rewarding. Maybe you could get a drop spindle to play with at home and it will make using the wheel a little easier. Good luck!

    • I do have a drop spindle that I made last winter, and I’ve spun up some pretty decent yarn on that. I find using a wheel to be a whole different ballgame. Maybe I don’t draft fast enough or even enough, who knows. Anyhow, it’s all getting better 🙂 Soon enough I’ll get the hang of it!

Leave a Reply

