Home Sweet Home

Here we are, on our farm at last, and more or less settling in. The kids are in heaven. Today, while driving in the car with Daddy, Lynden asked, “Are we still in the country?” Daddy replied, “Yes, we are,” to which Lynden said, “Good, I’m still happy then.” Within a week-and-a-half, my 3.5 yr old son has come to equate country living with happiness. This pleases me greatly.

One of the first things I did upon beginning to unpack was laundry. How to put into words the joy I felt at hanging my wash on the line for the first time? I’ve been longing to do this for years – in the little apartment we started out in, we were without the space; in our city house, I was unwilling to have my nosy neighbours examining all our garments and bedding hung out to dry, and the only good spot for hanging laundry was directly below a mulberry tree that loved to stain everything in the yard a brilliant shade of purple. And now, here I am, hanging my laundry at last. I find myself amazed when I pull the clothes down off the line, amazed at how quickly they dry, amazed at how fresh everything smells, amazed at how crisp and clean my laundry is. To think I missed out on this for so long! Simple pleasures, simple joys.

The weekend we moved to the farm, my sister and her partner came down from Toronto, my brother came down from the farm he is currently working on, and my aunt & cousins came down from their sweet little town as well. We gave the place a proper breaking-in – a fire on a hot, still night. Silly campfire songs shouted out into the dark sky. Laughter, companionship, crazy dancing by firelight. A circle of family, loved ones, gathered in the night in a place still so unfamiliar and new to us all.

I left the circle of chairs around the fire pit for days, letting the feeling of that first fire linger a while.

There is a nest of baby bunnies near the back of the yard. We have not seen the mother, but we’ve seen plenty of the babies! Our fourth evening here, while the kids were playing in the grass, the whole nest full of bunnies decided to come hopping out to say hello. They were so curious, and several of them hopped right up to the kids, less than an inch away from their outstretched hands. Lynden reached out and scooped one up, cradling the tiny little critter in his palms for a mere moment before I asked him to put it down and keep his human smell off of it. So there we sat, my babes and I, sharing the grass with tiny little bunnies in the late afternoon sun while I marveled at the beauty and wonder of it all.

This place is just full of fur and feathers! Our chicks are in the coop full-time now, and seem to be perfectly happy with that. They are still getting used to their quackie companions and would prefer not to have to share space with such lowly water-loving fowl, but on the whole all of the birds are getting along. I’m loving the beautiful feathers the chicks have grown, the colours and patterns that have come out on them. They’re almost out of the awkward, gawky phase and are fast becoming real beauties! The ducklings are not feathering out nearly as fast, and hold on to their baby cuteness a lot longer. These birds have all made excellent playmates for the kiddos, who will happily spend hours at a time crawling around in the coop, following the ducks, holding the chickies, refilling water dishes and running in circles flapping their arms wildly.

We’re at a grand total of 17 birds right now: the 3 nearly-grown chicks, 5 ducklings, 3 adult ducks, and:

The new chicks! They are so wee and sweet and wonderful. I forgot how small day-olds are – the cuteness of them makes me want to never stop holding them. Two ISA Browns, two black sex-links, two barred rocks. Unfortunately, our white leghorns won’t be here until August, as the hatchery had one of its hatch barns burn to the ground. I won’t mind going through the tiny chick stage again, having a daily dose of cuteness and cheepy love. Slowly but surely, our little flock is growing.

So, although we’re only a week-and-a-half into this, I’m going to go out on a limb and say that this farm life suits us just fine. Already I feel free, relaxed, peaceful, happy. This is where I was meant to be. Home.

5 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. The simple joy of being able to hang your laundry out to dry without worrying who will be viewing it must be amazing! It’s tough hanging undies on the line knowing the neighbours can see them 😦 You have so many birds now! I have to come visit you and see your new place very soon, miss you guys.

  2. Country living, and the simple act of hanging clothes on the line, really do bring such a feeling of peacefulness, a very relaxed slooowwwing down. Congrats on the new home, can’t wait to sit by the fire with you!

  3. I’ve been looking forward to your first post-move post. I’m so glad to hear the happiness in your voice. Hopefully it won’t be too long until I can be writing my own blog posts from the country, too! πŸ™‚

    Strangely enough, one of the main things I think I’ll love about living in the country is being able to have a huge laundry line and always dry my laundry outside. We aren’t allowed to do it at our townhouse condo; but I do anyway. Yesterday we saw the property manager looking into our backyard and writing something on her clipboard, so I have a feeling we’re going to get a notice that we have to stop hanging our laundry outside. As if saving energy is a crime! What a drag.

  4. WE hang our laundry all the time – I sset it to run over night and then first thing in the morning I hang it out……….love it! Your place is wonderful thank you for sharing it…..can’t wait to meet the baby bunnies!

  5. It sounds lovely! I can’t wait until we are able to move out into the country on our own little farm. I’m looking forward to hearing more πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

