Slowin’ Down

I am continually amazed by the way this farm life is slowing me down – the feeling of stress and tension that built up within me during my city years is very quickly evaporating.  I feel calm, tranquil, at ease.  It’s really very lovely.

We have fallen into a nice routine – the kids wake up at the break of dawn and crawl into bed with Jae and I to fall back asleep for a while longer.  Jae gets up for work, the kids and I make our lazy way downstairs for breakfast, and before I can get the table cleared Lynden is out the door to play.  I throw some laundry into the washing machine.  I let the dog out and top up his bowl of food.  Then I bring Raina and Robin outside with me and we let the chickens and ducks out of the coop, scattering feed on the ground and filling the duck’s pool with clean, fresh water.  Then we refill the rabbits’ food and water, and meander over to our very small and very late veggie garden.  We pick some weeds, water the plants, and marvel at how quickly the tiny little green tomatoes are growing.  I hang the laundry on the line to dry.  Then I sit under my beloved old willow tree and nurse the baby as my older two run around the yard – they skip, they climb, they dig, they hold the chickens, they crawl around in the coop, they play with the hose.  They become totally filthy in a remarkably short period of time.  They laugh a lot.

When our bellies start to rumble, we head inside for a snack.  The kids either run back out the door as soon as they finish, or play quietly in the living room with toys & books.  In the middle of the day, we all have a nap together.  Then it’s back outside, and the kids pick up where they left off.  I take the laundry off the line, fold and sort, and head into the house to get started on dinner.

It’s a simple life, and although I have more chores around here than I did in the city, I seem to have so much more time to get everything done.  I don’t feel like I’m constantly rushing to get “caught up” on the things that need doing – indeed, I find myself enjoying plenty of leisure time, sitting in the shade with a good book and a nursing babe or working on my latest crochet project.  I feel relaxed almost always.

And I’m so enjoying the afternoon nap.

4 thoughts on “Slowin’ Down

  1. So glad to hear you & the kids are so enjoying the beautiful, simple things of your new country lifestyle. The picture of clothes hanging on the line brought a nostalgic smile to my face…an image from my childhood. I still remember the freshness of the clothes as I brought them in off the line.I bless your days. Hugs to the children.

  2. sounds so lovely! I’m thrilled to hear how much it is working for you……….looking forward to heading back out soon!

Leave a Reply

