Super Food

I think I have found the perfect anytime food! It is easy to make, and goes a long, long way. I can stick it in the fridge after making it, and it does super-duty as breakfast, snack, lunch and desert! It’s none other than Quinoa Bake! Here’s my recipe:

_________________________________

Yummy Quinoa Bake

2 cups quinoa cooked in 3 1/2 cups water
3 cups milk or substitute (I use almond milk)
3 mashed ripe bananas
1/3 cup honey
1/4 cup ground almonds
1/4 cup ground pecans
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp lemon juice

1. Combine mashed bananas, honey, and all dry ingredients. Mix well.
2. Add milk or substitute, lemon juice, and cooked quinoa. Mix and pour into 9×13 baking dish.
3. Bake at 350F approximately 45 minutes, or until set.

*Tip: Soak quinoa for a minimum of eight hours before cooking to neutralise the phytic acid. Most grains and seeds should be soaked before consuming for this reason. For the recipe above, soak your quinoa in 1 1/2 cups of the water needed for cooking. After soaking, cook the quinoa in 2 cups of water until fluffy. There should be no remaining water in the pot.

_________________________________

This recipe is enough for me and my children to have Yummy Quinoa Bake for breakfast at least three days in a row, served hot or cold. The kids also like to have it as a quick snack – just pull it out of the fridge and enjoy! It is great topped with yogurt or kefir, fresh blueberries, sliced strawberries, peaches – you name it! It is sweet enough to serve as a healthy desert after dinner and great warmed up for lunch. A versatile meal indeed!

I’ve been experimenting with dishes that I can make with homegrown food, and while this one can’t be made with entirely homegrown ingredients (I don’t have an almond tree, honey bees, grape vines, etc.), I will be growing quinoa this year and so I will include this recipe in the “homegrown” book.

If you try this recipe and love it, I’d like to hear from you! Feel free to pass it around and share this recipe with friends – spread the Yummy Quinoa Bake love!

4 thoughts on “Super Food

  1. delicious – we just had this for our afternoon snack and it was great — the whole family enjoyed it! Very much like a rice pudding-ish –> I wasn’t sure what texture to expect and wasn’t sure when I took it out of the oven — but was very happy with the results — THANK YOU πŸ™‚

  2. YUMMY! Thanks so much Lindsay πŸ™‚

    I made this on the weekend for my family and the inlaws. I had to substitute some things and I added some frozen strawberries, blueberries and peaches that we’d stored from last season. Our ‘bake’ was kinda crumbly but tasted great – a big hit with everyone except the dh who hasn’t gotten around to tasting it hahaha. My inlaws had never heard of quinoa so this was a great intro to it. We ate some as a snack straight up and had more later on after dinner as dessert with a bit of whipped cream added on top.
    Thanks again for the delicious recipe πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

