Injury!

Back on Thursday, while attempting to tighten a car seat strap, I felt something in my chest go POP! It hurt, but I got over it and went on with my day.

On Friday, I was tender, but found I could just push on through it. Saturday the pain was worse, but again I pushed on through. Sunday seemed no worse, and I figured I’d soon be fine.

Then, yesterday, I woke up to pain so horrible that it took my breath away. I couldn’t pick up the baby, raise my left arm, laugh or cough, blow my nose, etc without pain tearing across my chest. Finally, after a day of laying around in total agony, I decided to have it looked at.

Turns out I’ve torn my left pectoral muscle. IF I don’t lift anything or put any kind of strain on it, I should mend in about two weeks’ time.

Two weeks is a long time in my life! Every day has a series of chores that require use of my left arm – hauling hay, cleaning stalls, pulling weeds, milking goats, collecting eggs, feeding animals, hanging laundry, caring for children, keeping the house – aaaaaaaaahh!!! Those things can’t wait for two weeks!!!

So I haven’t figured out just what I’m going to do. I’m thinking I may just have to suck it up, grin and bear it, push on through the pain. Life can’t be put on hold for two weeks, especially not at this time of year, and I don’t have anyone who can take over the chores for me.

I never even thought of a back-up plan in case of injury!

7 thoughts on “Injury!

  1. Oh no! That’s awful…I hope you feel better soon. If I wasn’t so pathetically behind in my own chores, I’d drive out to help you out. Please don’t overdo it, or you’ll make the injury worse and it will take longer to heal…

  2. Wish i could help you. Don’t despair. The house at DF was never so clean as when a woman with the use of only one arm lived there.

    • Thanks for that, Stu, you bring a smile to my face.

      I think I’ve gotten over my feelings of panic and now have settled on a somewhat uneasy “this too shall pass”.

  3. This is a good time to call on all and any friends/family to rally together and give you a hand. I can bring my gang out to your house on Saturday or Sunday if you would like. Let me know, I would be happy to help. In the mean time big **hugs**

  4. Oh dear! That sounds awful!!!
    I guess it’s time to get those kids working even harder! haha.
    no really though, i agree with Rebecca, get your friends and family out there to help you out.

Leave a Reply

