Soggy Soil

I’m in a state of utter disbelief at the amount of rain we’ve had this Spring. I haven’t been able to get much into the ground, for even when it’s not raining out, the soil is just too saturated to work with. My seedlings are desperately wanting to be outdoors! The few cucumber starters I saved from the wrath of the rabbit are now starting to flower in their trays, and my sunflowers are much too large for their little starter pots.

Alas, today is another grey and rainy day, and it looks as though the rest of the week will be much the same. I’m trying not to stress about the super-wet soil and the fact that I’m now about a month behind in my planned planting schedule. I’m trying not to fret about having nothing ready for the market, which opens this coming weekend, and to save myself too much stress I’ve decided to hold off on the market stand until June.

Too much water, yes.

My mountain of laundry grows as I have had so few days that are decent enough to hang the washing on the line. I haven’t had a chance to set up an indoor drying area, and I don’t want to use the dryer, but I may have to cave and rely on the machine again after all.

The kids are stir-crazy, the chickens are slacking in the egg-laying department, the goats have retreated to the barn. Someone needs to have a talking-to with the skies. My pleas for sun have apparently gone unheard.

2 thoughts on “Soggy Soil

  1. No kidding – the first day of summer is a few weeks away and it has been just grey, gloomy and WET!
    We had plans to plant this weekend but couldn’t even begin to work our plot. I recall this same thing happening last year – we were so late getting everything in because the ground was too saturated.
    However, everything grew great once it finally was all in and we can be grateful that although we have a slow start to Spring we do have a long warm growing season and what we can’t do at the beginning will, with hope, make up for it in the end with bountiful harvests!
    That doesn’t help you much with the market opening but who is going to visit the market on such miserable days anyhow 😀

Leave a Reply

