On a Hot Day in July

Oh boy, is it ever hot out there!  When I step outside, I feel like I’m melting!  Nevertheless, today’s been a day of getting things done (despite the many times I’m interrupted by a baby who’s decided he needs to nurse).  We enjoyed fresh cucumbers from the garden, played in the shade, hung clothes on the line, and tried our hardest not to make ourselves hotter than we needed to be.

Raina’s got it made in the shade.  This child loves to sit up in trees, as high as she can get.  Her beloved kitty usually follows her up.  Today she was higher than I could reach!

 

Sunflower has settled in well here.  She grazes on a lot of the plants the goats leave behind, which makes them perfect companions.  Sunflower is a sweet, gentle soul with bright & curious eyes.  And guess what?……

Sunflower has a new friend!  This is Day Lily (“Lily” for short), who arrived here on Sunday afternoon.  The two sheep immediately became chums.

Quail eggs – aren’t they lovely?  They are so small and beautiful, each one uniquely speckled.  Our quail flock has been laying like crazy, much to our delight.

Look how little those yolks are!  We enjoyed a lunch of scrambled quail eggs today.

 

 

I hope you are staying cool on this hot day in July!

 

2 thoughts on “On a Hot Day in July

  1. My darling, that picture of Raina in the tree is absolute magic. It’s like a real life Alice in Wonderland. Absolutely amazing. I feel like I could write poetry and stories and plays just from the inspiration that picture gives me. I desperately need to come visit you and your beautiful family!

  2. Your farm is lovely looking and the picture of your daughter in the tree is adorable! My children are constantly running around barefoot, climbing this and that. I think it is great when children are able to explore and learn naturally as yours are 🙂

Leave a Reply

