Uncooperative Weather

My garlic desperately needs to get in the ground before things freeze. There’s a problem, though – we have had the wettest Autumn that I can remember. There’s been so much rain that the ground is totally saturated. Each time that I think we’ve had a enough dry days to actually get the garlic planted, it rains again. It’s getting rather ridiculous!

Today is a perfect case in point. Two days ago, I went out and turned the soil a bit in the would-be garlic bed, hoping that exposing the soil would help it dry out faster. It was pretty wet, but not so wet that another day or two wouldn’t make for perfect planting conditions. Fast-forward to today: RAIN. Heavy, heavy rain. It was raining when I woke up, and after a slight mid-morning break, it is raining again now. The wind is whipping, leaves are flying, and the ground is soaking wet.

Oh, dear readers, I fear that I will not get the garlic planted in time. I’ve never experienced an Autumn like this before! I thought this past Spring was horribly wet, but now this Autumn is rivaling for the title. My sheep and goats are ankle-deep in mud, the fields around us are perpetually water-logged, and the garden is a soggy mess. What to do, what to do? Farm-fresh garlic is near the top of my list of things to look forward to for next season. I need the ground to dry out! I need the sky to stop pouring on us!

Leave a Reply

